Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo

Growing up, I didn’t just listen to my parents music. I grew up listening to almost every genre of music through my entire family.

My dad was a DJ, my aunt was a professional singer and my family leans towards the asian side and we kareoke A LOT. So I basically listened to everything from oldies to whatever crazy 90’s dance music there was, from Celene Dion to songs not even in English.

I suppose that could be the reason I enjoy so many genres of music and it not only influences my musical taste, but my writing as I am a musician. Perhaps not directly, but it definitely allows me to keep my ears open to new music and allows me to have unbiased opinions and openly appreciate anything.

Leave a Reply

